Direct answer

There is no single answer for every pacemaker. Medtronic’s consumer guidance says most heart devices are removed before cremation and that some leadless pacemakers can remain inside the heart. That narrow manufacturer statement does not decide what should happen in a particular California case, who may act, or what a related service will cost.

The unresolved case details are the exact device type and the professional instruction applicable to that device. A general statement about heart devices cannot be expanded into a rule covering every implant. A provider’s published workflow can illustrate questions about responsibility, but it cannot establish a statewide requirement or case-specific qualification.

For charges, distinguish documented selected, included, required with a written reason, not selected, and unknown states. A device-related amount should not be treated as settled without a current provider document supporting it.

Why disclosure matters

The presence of a pacemaker or another implanted heart device is relevant because Medtronic distinguishes most heart devices from some leadless pacemakers. That distinction describes different device circumstances; it does not determine removal, retention, authorization, timing, or price for a particular person.

A disclosure alone does not answer which instruction applies. The unresolved questions are the exact device type and the case-specific professional instruction. Medtronic’s statement refers generally to a mortician or pathologist for most heart devices, while noting that some leadless pacemakers can remain inside the heart. It does not identify a professional for a particular case.

The device question should be kept separate from consumer price documents. The Federal Trade Commission says a written statement after arrangements identifies the selected goods and services and their prices. California’s current statute describes a written or printed memorandum before a funeral-services contract, when the information is available, itemizing service and facility charges, selected merchandise, authorized cash advances, other charges, and the total.

Who confirms the next step

The available manufacturer statement does not name one universally responsible person for every implanted heart device. It refers generally to a mortician or pathologist as likely removers for most heart devices and separately notes that some leadless pacemakers can remain inside the heart. The exact device type and case-specific professional instruction remain important.

CB Crematory provides a dated, named provider example. Its page says that its pacemaker workflow may involve a licensed funeral director, embalmer, or sometimes a hospital. This describes that provider’s workflow only. It is not California law, medical advice, or proof that one of those roles may act in a particular case.

A general webpage, advertisement, or incomplete verbal statement does not supply the missing case detail. The unresolved point remains which professional instruction applies to the exact device and circumstances.

Records and charge checklist

For the device question, identify the exact device type if that information is available and distinguish that fact from the professional instruction that applies to the case. The available sources do not establish a universal record format, a required written confirmation, or a single required professional or facility for every case.

For charges, reconcile the current General Price List or quote with the selected-item written statement. The Federal Trade Commission’s Funeral Rule addresses selected goods and services and their prices. California Business and Professions Code section 7685.2 describes a memorandum covering service and facility charges, selected merchandise, authorized cash advances, other charges, and the total when available.

Keep an unknown amount unresolved. California’s current statute says that when a covered charge is not known at contract execution, the funeral director must advise the purchaser within a reasonable period after the information becomes available. The statute does not supply a specific deadline, amount, remedy, or outcome. Do not enter zero or create a subtotal that treats an unknown charge as settled.

The Federal Trade Commission also distinguishes selected, included, required with a written reason, not selected, and unknown states for price reconciliation. No specific device-removal charge should be entered without a current provider document that supports it.

No do-it-yourself boundary

The available manufacturer and provider statements do not provide case-specific removal instructions or establish authorization for a particular person to remove a device. They describe limited statements about device types and possible roles in one provider’s workflow without deciding a particular case.

CB Crematory’s named roles remain limited to that provider’s published example. Medtronic’s wording remains limited to its statement about most heart devices and some leadless pacemakers. Neither source supplies a universal qualification rule, procedure, timing, or cost.

If the device type or applicable professional instruction is unresolved, that uncertainty remains unresolved; a general online statement cannot convert it into a case-specific answer.

Questions people ask

Useful questions include: What exact device type is documented, if known? Which professional instruction applies to that device? Does the provider’s published workflow describe a role that is relevant to this case? Is any related charge documented, selected, included, required with a written reason, not selected, or still unknown?

For the contract record, compare the current memorandum or other written charge document with the General Price List or quote and the selected-item written statement. California’s statute addresses service and facility charges, selected merchandise, authorized cash advances, other charges, and the total when available. The Federal Trade Commission addresses the written statement of selected goods and services and their prices.

Evidence behind this page

Each point below is restricted to what the cited primary source supports. Administrative listing status is not a quality endorsement.

Claim-level evidence used on this page
EvidenceSupported pointScope and limitation
Evidence 1Separate selected, included, required with written reason, not selected, and unknown states in the price lab.Do not label a specific item optional or required without the current written document and applicable primary authority.
Evidence 2Tell readers to reconcile the source-dated General Price List or quote with the selected-item written statement.Do not treat an advertisement, worksheet result, incomplete phone quote, or provider sample as the consumer's final statement.
Evidence 3Build a before-signing direct-cremation checklist around the current memorandum categories and documented total.Section 7685.2 contains a future operative version for January 1, 2027; reverify the effective text before that date.
Evidence 4Keep an unknown amount unresolved, exclude it from any documented subtotal, and add a follow-up question rather than entering zero.Do not promise a specific update deadline, amount, remedy, or outcome that the supplied statute does not state.
Evidence 5Use this narrow manufacturer statement to explain why the exact device type and case-specific professional instruction must be confirmed.Do not give medical advice, identify who is qualified in a particular case, generalize to every implant or device, or decide removal, authorization, safety, timing, or cost.
Evidence 6Use this only as a dated, named provider example of questions to ask about remover identity and written documentation.This is not California law, medical advice, a universal workflow, or proof of who may remove a device in a particular case; do not infer availability, safety, timing, authorization, or cost.

Questions people ask

Who removes a pacemaker before cremation?

These sources do not establish a case-specific answer. Medtronic says most heart devices are removed before cremation and refers generally to a mortician or pathologist, while noting that some leadless pacemakers can remain inside the heart. CB Crematory gives a provider-specific example naming a licensed funeral director, embalmer, or sometimes a hospital. Neither statement identifies the person for a particular California case or supplies a removal procedure.

Who confirms the next step for a particular device?

The available sources do not name a universally responsible person or establish authorization for every California case. They support confirming the exact device type and the professional instruction applicable to that device. Medtronic gives a narrow manufacturer statement, and CB Crematory gives a provider-specific workflow example; neither resolves the responsible professional for a particular case.

Why is a provider example not a California-wide rule?

CB Crematory’s statement describes that provider’s own workflow. It names possible roles in that workflow but does not state California law, establish universal authority, or decide who may act in a particular case. It can illustrate questions about responsibility without determining the answer statewide.

Primary sources

  1. Federal Trade Commission — Funeral Industry Practices Rule Verified 2026-08-26
  2. Federal Trade Commission — Consumer Rights Under the Funeral Rule Verified 2026-08-26
  3. California Legislative Information — Business and Professions Code Article 5.5 Funeral Practices Verified 2026-08-26
  4. Medtronic — Should a Heart Device Be Removed Prior to Cremation? Verified 2026-09-11
  5. CB Crematory — Cremation with a Pacemaker Verified 2026-09-11